Store Safari

Standard

“Morning, Ms. Carver,” Garrett said, flinging open my door as he strode into the room.  He always attaches a Gone with the Wind accent to my name, pronouncing it Caa-vah.  “Man, it’s hot in here.”

“And that’s never going to change, so you might as well get used to it. You know I prefer a tropical climate.”  I capped my red pen and put it back in its pen holster on my desk.

Garrett bowled his book bag into a spot along the wall that he considers to be his. “Will you buy me a moped, Ms. Carver?”

“I’ll think about it.”

He stopped mid-step. “Really?”

“Of course not. Why do you want a moped?”

He shrugged.  “They just look like a lot of fun.”

I walked over to the board and began erasing yesterday’s lecture notes.  “Well, they certainly can be.  But it’s the devil when you wreck. I drove one for years in Malaysia.”

“You’ve lived everywhere.”

“I wouldn’t say that.”  Sure, for someone who grew up in small town America, I’ve seen a few places; but compared to even your hermit European, I’m woefully under traveled.

“You’ve been in America, Asia, Africa . . .”

That last one was news to me, so I paused in my Expo swiping. “Africa?  I’ve never been to Africa.”

“You haven’t?  Then where’d you get those giraffe heads?” he said, pointing at two three foot wooden masks, hanging on either side of my desk.

“Hobby Lobby.”

“Oh.  Well, you’ve still been to a bunch of places.”  He sauntered out, leaving me to wonder why the girl at the checkout line at Hobby Lobby had forgotten to stamp my passport on my last hunting expedition.

Marvin and Mabel - raised in captivity, not real African giraffes . . .

Marvin and Mabel – raised in captivity, not real African giraffes . . .

© 2013 – Traci Carver

16 responses »

    • Most of them find it baffling that I choose to write without the threat of a failing grade dangling over my head. But I do want them to feel comfortable if I spotlight a particular student, so I make them sign off on the post before I throw them into the Web 🙂

    • I love the anecdotes my students provide! I always let them read the post and give me a thumbs up or down on it. Most are delighted to make my blog 🙂

  1. Well, if that’s the only time he’s seen a giraffe then he’s bound to make such an extrapolation. LOL Not that you wouldn’t LOVE to see Africa. I remember a certain country had your eye way back when. 🙂

    • Shows how long we’ve been friends 🙂 I’m game for almost any continent at this point with the exception of Antarctica. Parka overpowers passport any day of the week 🙂

Leave a Reply

